Building a kitchen: The Campus Kitchens Project

by Shae Blevins

Last semester, I worked with the team of graduate and undergraduate students responsible for this website. Our goals were to increase awareness about food security and hunger in the Wichita State University community and to determine the nature and scope of hunger on campus.

My research was not statistically significant.

My research did not reveal a massive amount of students, faculty and staff suffering from hunger.

My research could not convince a jury of my peers that people on campus are hungry and struggling.

But my research did do something for me: It strengthened in me a desire to feed the hungry.

While gaps in previous research and lack of former initiatives are responsible for WSU Hunger Awareness Day, the students, faculty and staff who told their stories to the eager ears of researchers and hunger activists were the reason for WSU Hunger Awareness Day.

Those same people are the reason for my graduate project.

Before I graduate and leave WSU, I am writing a proposal to the university to develop a Campus Kitchens Project on campus. The Campus Kitchens Project is a nationwide, school-based hunger relief program designed to use leftover, unused food from the campus kitchen to feed people suffering from very low food security and hunger in the community.

I ask for your support because I have a strong desire to feed the hungry. I ask for your support because I witnessed and read painful, sorrow-filled testimony from people in the WSU community. I ask for your support if you believe that no one should go to bed hungry.

I ask for your support because I cannot do it alone.

I will collect signatures in support of my proposal on Tuesday, March 13, 2012, from 10:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m., at the Rhatigan Student Center. Look for my table on the first floor.

If you cannot or do not want to sign my petition, please spread the word to your friends and acquaintances at WSU.

Comment

